UCC Filing Statements

​NOTE: Due to the fact that the laws governing the formation and operation of business entities and the effectiveness of a UCC Financing Statement involves more than filing documents with our office, we suggest you consult an attorney, accountant or other professional.



The statutory basis for these regulations is Section § 9-101 (Title 9) Secured Transactions, Commercial Law, Annotated Code of Maryland. Please use the online Maryland Code to view the most recent updates to § 9-101 (Title 9) and other MD Statutes.   
NOTE: Under Maryland Criminal Law, a person who files in public records of the Department of Assessments and Taxations a lien or encumbrance against the personal property of another that is based on a false, fictitious or fraudulent statement is guilty of a misdemeanor and subject to imprisonment not exceeding one year or a fine not exceeding $10,000 or both for the first offense.
Maryland Code Covering Fradulent Filings
​MD COMMERCIAL LAW Code Ann. §9-518 MD CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. §3-808
MD COMMERCIAL LAW Code Ann. §9-625 MD CRIMINAL LAW Code Ann. §9-508


UCC Filing Fees: Filings of 8 or fewer pages cost $25 and filings of 9 or more pages cost $75. 
  (There are no Maryland-specific instructions for this form; follow the instructions provided with the national form.)
Record Searches: Unlike many other states, the Department of Assessments and Taxation does not search records.
 View a listings of private companies that will search UCC filings.
For questions not answered on these pages, call our Uniform Commercial Code (UCC) division at 410-767-1459. (If you are in Maryland but outside the Baltimore area, you may call 1-888-246-5941.)

How to File UCC Documents with the Department


Human Trafficking GET HELP

National Human Trafficking Hotline - 24/7 Confidential

1-888-373-7888 233733 More Information on human trafficking in Maryland

Customer Service Promise

The State of Maryland pledges to provide constituents, businesses, customers, and stakeholders with friendly and courteous, timely and responsive, accurate and consistent, accessible and convenient, and truthful and transparent services.

Take Our Survey

Help Stop Fraud in State Government

The Maryland General Assembly’s Office of Legislative Audits operates a toll-free fraud hotline to receive allegations of fraud and/or abuse of State government resources. Information reported to the hotline in the past has helped to eliminate certain fraudulent activities and protect State resources.

More Information