ARTICLES OF ORGANIZATION

The undersigned, with the intention of creating a Maryland Limited Liability Company files the following Articles of Organization: (1) The name of the Limited Liability Company is: The purpose for which the Limited Liability Company is filed is as follows: (2) (3) The address of the Limited Liability Company in Maryland is ______ (4) The resident agent of the Limited Liability Company in Maryland is ______ whose address is _____ Signature of Resident Agent Signature(s) of Authorized Person(s) Filing party's return address: **(7)**



INSTRUCTIONS FOR DRAFTING A LIMITED LIABILITY COMPANY

To create a Maryland Limited Liability Company (LLC) an originally executed **Articles of Organization** must be submitted to:

Department of Assessments and Taxation 700 East Pratt Street, Suite 2700 Baltimore, MD 21202

- (1) Insert the name here. The name must not be misleadingly similar to that of another LLC, Corporation, Trade Name, Limited Partnership or Limited Liability Partnership on file with the Department and the name of the LLC must include one of the following:
- a. Limited Liability Company
- b. L.L.C.
- c. LLC
- d. L.C.
- e. L C
- (2) Insert the purpose of the LLC. A one or two sentence description of the business is sufficient.
- (3) Insert the address of the LLC. The address must be in Maryland and cannot be a P.O. Box.
- (4) Insert the name and address (cannot be a P.O. Box) of the resident agent. A resident agent is another entity or individual designated to accept service of process for the LLC. The resident agent can be any Maryland citizen who is over eighteen, a Maryland corporation or a Maryland LLC. This person must also sign the document.
- (5) Execution must be signed by any adult individual authorized by the persons forming the LLC.
- (6) The resident agent must sign here.
- (7) Insert the return address for any correspondence regarding this filing.

NOTE: This list is the mandatory provisions. Any provision the parties decide is relevant may be added to the Articles of Organization. Documents must be **typed** or **printed**. No handwritten documents will be accepted.

FEES:

- (1) Certificate of Organization \$100.00
- (2) Certified Copy of document above \$20.00 + \$1.00 page
- (3) Certificate of Status at time of filing \$20.00

Revised 1/2023

NOTES: Due to the fact, that the laws governing the formation and operation of business entities and the effectiveness of a UCC Financing Statement involves more than filing documents with our office, we suggest you consult an attorney, accountant or other professional. State Department of Assessments & Taxation staff cannot offer business counseling or legal advice.

Regarding annual documents to be filed with the Department of Assessments & Taxation: All domestic and foreign legal entities must submit a Personal Property Return to the Department. Failure to file a Personal Property Return will result in forfeiture of your right to conduct business in Maryland

FILING INSTRUCTIONS

To file online:

- 1. Create an account with Maryland Business Express using the following link: https://egov.maryland.gov/businessexpress
- 2. Follow the instructions for filing on the Maryland Business Express portal.

To file by mail:

- Mail your filing, check or money order to: State Department of Assessments and Taxation Charter Division 700 East Pratt Street, Suite 2700 Baltimore, Maryland 21202
- 2. Checks or money orders should be made payable to the State Department of Assessments

and Taxation or SDAT.

To file by hand-delivery in drop boxes:

- 1. Regular Filing. A filing may be hand-delivered to the drop boxes that SDAT maintains in the building lobby at 123 Market Place, Baltimore, MD 21202.
- Same-day Filing. A same-day expedited filing may be hand-delivered to the appropriate drop box in the building lobby at 123 Market Place, Baltimore, MD 21202. Please check the SDAT website using the following link for additional instructions about same-day service: https://dat.maryland.gov/businesses/Pages/default.aspx

How long will it take to process my documents?

- 1. Base Filing Fee. Standard non-expedited review is 6 to 8 weeks.
- 2. <u>Expedited review</u>. An additional \$50.00 is required for expedited review within 7 to 10 business days.
- 3. <u>Same-day review</u> Same-day expedited service requires an additional \$325 fee when filed online or \$425 fee for documents delivered to our office.

Revised: August 2024