2021
DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX
TELEPHONE, ELECTRIC, AND GAS COMPANIES

FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2021
Name of Taxpayer:
Address: Zip Code:
DepartmentibD.. _ Federal.o..

(Required)

ALL PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY TAXPAYERS OF RECORD MUST USE THE DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX
PREPRINTED VOUCHERS (FORM NO. 29E) TO SUBMIT QUARTERLY INSTALLMENTS. SEE INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE
DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX ON THE NEXT PAGE.

ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX WORKSHEET (Complete this worksheet to compute the estimated franchise tax due.)

A. PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY-TELEPHONE

1. Estimated Maryland Gross Receipts

2. Estimated Franchise Tax due for the year (Multiply line 1 by 2%)*

3. Estimated Tax due per quarter (Multiply line 2 x 25%)

B. PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY- ELECTRIC AND GAS

1. Estimated Maryland Gross Receipts

2. Estimated Franchise Tax due for the year (Multiply line 1 by 2%)*

3. Estimated KWH of electricity delivered for final

consumption in Maryland

4. Estimated franchise tax due for the year (Multiply line 3 by .00062)*

5. Estimated THERMS of natural gas delivered

for final consumption in Maryland

6. Estimated franchise tax due for the year (Multiply line 5 by .00402)*

7. Total estimated franchise tax due for the year
(Add lines 2, 4 and 6)

8. Estimated tax due per quarter (Multiply line 7 by 25%)

*Estimated tax net of credits
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RECORD OF INSTALLMENT PAYMENTS (Complete this record for your files)

1. PRIOR YEAR (2020 OVERPAYMENT applied as a credit to estimated tax for 2021)

Payment Document/
Date Due Date Paid Check No.

15th day of the 4th month

15th day of the 6th month

15th day of the 9th month

15th day of the 12th month

2B

Total estimated tax payments for 2021 (Add lines 1 through 5). Claim this amount on
line C.4a of Form 11, or line 11a of Form 11T.
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INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED
PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY FRANCHISE TAX

Sections 8-402 and 8-402.1 of the Tax General Article of the Maryland Code imposes a franchise tax on each
public service company doing business in Maryland. A "'public service company'* means a person (a) engaged
in a telephone business in Maryland; or (b) engaged in the transmission, distribution, or delivery of electricity
or natural gas in Maryland. Please refer to the Department’s regulations Title 18, Subtitle 8 Public Service
Company Franchise Tax.

Each public service company that reasonably expects its franchise tax to exceed $1,000 for the taxable year
must make estimated tax payments. The total estimated tax payments for the year must be at least 90%o of
the tax developed for the current taxable year or 110% of the tax paid for the prior taxable year.

The declaration of estimated tax must be filed with the Department of Assessments and Taxation on or before
the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th, and 12th months following the beginning of the taxable year.

Each public service company required to file a declaration of estimated franchise tax shall remit by each of
the four installment due dates at least 25% of the total estimated tax.

Maryland law provides for the accrual of interest and imposition of penalty for failure to pay any tax when
due.

Franchise tax payments of $10,000 or more must be remitted by electronic funds transfer. Please refer to the
Department’s regulations Title 18, Subtitle 11 Tax Payments.

Maryland law provides for the accrual of interest and imposition of penalty for failure to remit the tax by
electronic funds transfer as required by the regulations.

Department of Assessments and Taxation
Franchise Tax Unit
301 West Preston Street
Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2395
For assistance, call: (410) 767-1940
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	6. Franchise tax payments of $10,000 or more must be remitted by electronic funds transfer.  Please refer to the Department’s regulations Title 18, Subtitle 11 Tax Payments.
	7. Maryland law provides for the accrual of interest and imposition of penalty for failure to remit the tax by electronic funds transfer as required by the regulations.
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