MARYLAND FORM NO. 29EW	2017 DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX TELEPHONE, ELECTRIC, AND GAS COMPANIES FOR CALENDAR YEAR 2017				
Name of Taxpayer: Address:	Zip Code:				
Department I.D.:	Federal I.D.:				

ALL PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY TAXPAYERS OF RECORD MUST USE THE DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX PREPRINTED VOUCHERS (FORM NO. 29E) TO SUBMIT QUARTERLY INSTALLMENTS. <u>SEE INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE</u> <u>DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX</u> ON THE NEXT PAGE.

ESTIMATED FRANCHISE TAX WORKSHEET (Complete this worksheet to compute the estimated franchise tax due.)

A. PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY-TELEPHONE	
1. Estimated Maryland Gross Receipts	
2. Estimated Franchise Tax due for the year (Multiply line 1 by 2%)*	
3. Estimated Tax due per quarter (Multiply line 2 x 25%)	
B. PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY- ELECTRIC AND GAS	
1. Estimated Maryland Gross Receipts	
2. Estimated Franchise Tax due for the year (Multiply line 1 by 2%)*	
3. Estimated KWH of electricity delivered for final	
consumption in Maryland	
4. Estimated franchise tax due for the year (Multiply line 3 by .00062)*	
5. Estimated THERMS of natural gas delivered	
for final consumption in Maryland	
6. Estimated franchise tax due for the year (Multiply line 5 by .00402)*	
7. Total estimated franchise tax due for the year	
(Add lines 2, 4 and 6)	
8. Estimated tax due per quarter (Multiply line 7 by 25%)	

*Estimated tax net of credits

RECORD OF INSTALLMENT PAYMENTS (Complete this record for your files)

1. PRIOR YEAR (2016 OVERPAYMENT applied as a credit to estimated tax for 2017)

	Date Due	Date Paid	Payment Document/ Check No.			
2.	15th day of the 4th month					
3.	15th day of the 6th month					
4.	15th day of the 9th month					
5.	15th day of the 12th month					
6.	5. Total estimated tax payments for 2017 (Add lines 1 through 5). Claim this amount on					
	line C.4a of Form 11, or line 11a of F	Form 11T.				

ATTACH A COPY OF THIS WORKSHEET WITH THE FIRST QUARTERLY REMITTANCE OF THE TAX.

INSTRUCTIONS FOR COMPLETING THE DECLARATION OF ESTIMATED <u>PUBLIC SERVICE COMPANY FRANCHISE TAX</u>

- 1. Sections 8-402 and 8-402.1 of the Tax General Article of the Maryland Code imposes a franchise tax on each public service company doing business in Maryland. A "public service company" means a person (a) engaged in a telephone business in Maryland; or (b) engaged in the transmission, distribution, or delivery of electricity or natural gas in Maryland. Please refer to the Department's regulations Title 18, Subtitle 8 Public Service Company Franchise Tax.
- 2. Each public service company that reasonably expects its franchise tax to exceed \$1,000 for the taxable year must make estimated tax payments. The total estimated tax payments for the year must be at least 90% of the tax developed for the current taxable year or 110% of the tax paid for the prior taxable year.
- 3. The declaration of estimated tax must be filed with the <u>Department of Assessments and Taxation</u> on or before the 15th day of the 4th, 6th, 9th, and 12th months following the beginning of the taxable year.
- 4. Each public service company required to file a declaration of estimated franchise tax shall remit by each of the four installment due dates at least 25% of the total estimated tax.
- 5. Maryland law provides for the accrual of interest and imposition of penalty for failure to pay any tax when due.
- 6. Franchise tax payments of \$10,000 or more must be remitted by electronic funds transfer. Please refer to the Department's regulations Title 18, Subtitle 11 Tax Payments.
- 7. Maryland law provides for the accrual of interest and imposition of penalty for failure to remit the tax by electronic funds transfer as required by the regulations.

Department of Assessments and Taxation Franchise Tax Unit 301 West Preston Street Baltimore, Maryland 21201-2395 For assistance, call: (410) 767-1940