WHAT DOES IT MEAN THAT MY BUSINESS ENTITY IS
“NOT IN GOOD STANDING” OR “FORFEITED™?

» Check the status of any business entity using the SDAT Business search database at
http://sdat.dat.maryland.gov/ucc-charter/

> “Not in Good Standing” means the entity has not filed an Annual Report/Business Personal
Property Return or it owes a late filing penalty.

> You correct the “Not in Good Standing” status by filing with the Department the missing
Annual Report/Personal Property Return and pay the appropriate filing fee. The combined
Personal Property Annual Report (Form 1) for prior years can be downloaded from the
website by clicking on the “Forms & Applications” link near the top of most SDAT web pages.

> “Forfeited” means the “legal existence” of the entity has been relinquished and it is usually for
failing to make required Annual Report/Personal Property Return filings for prior years.

> In the Business database you can see the reason why an entity has been “forfeited” by
clicking on the “Amendments” column heading on the entity display page.

> There are four steps for any entity to correct the “forfeited” status:
(1) File all missing Annual Reports/Personal Property Returns for every year and pay the
$300 annual filing fee for each year;
(2) Pay the local county/city government’s personal property tax bill for

any reported property after the Department has sent an assessment
notice to the local government;

(38) Obtain a “tax clearance certificate” from the local government after
any personal property tax bills have been paid; and

(4) File “Articles of Revival or Reinstatement” with the Department by
attaching a copy of the tax clearance certificate. Instructions and a
form for reinstatement can be downloaded from the Department’s
website by clicking on “Forms & Applications” link near the top of the

page.

> Any business entity that needs to correct its “forfeited” legal status immediately may come to
the Department’s Corporate Charter public filing counter on the 8" floor of our offices at 301
West Preston Street, Baltimore, Maryland 21201. There is an additional $50 “expedited filing
fee” required under the law for immediate processing service.

» The Personal Property return can also be filed online at Maryland Business Express
https://maryland.gov/businessexpress
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